CLEVELAND -- The presumed favourite in the Browns coaching search says hes in the running. New England offensive co-ordinator Josh McDaniels confirmed he interviewed over the weekend with Cleveland owner Jimmy Haslam and CEO Joe Banner. The team is searching for its second coach in a year and seventh since 1999 after firing Rob Chudzinski last week. "We met and thats about all there is at this point," McDaniels said Monday during a conference call. "Nothing further." The Browns began the second week of their search with no conclusion in sight. McDaniels wasnt offered the job because NFL rules prohibit teams from making offers to assistant coaches on playoff teams until they are out of the post-season. Even if the Browns want to hire McDaniels, they cant discuss a contract with him until New Englands season ends. The Patriots play Indianapolis on Saturday in a divisional playoff. McDaniels, who went 11-17 as Denvers coach before he was fired, did not divulge details of his meeting. "The opportunities are certainly flattering if they come up," said McDaniels, a native of Canton, Ohio. "That being said, I am going to try to keep my focus on the Colts and our preparation this week. Like Ive said in the past, Im fortunate to have the job I have, and I love being here. I love doing what Im doing. Each opportunity that comes along is a little different and Im going to leave it at that and continue to put my effort and attention into the Colts this week." McDaniels is one of three candidates known to have interviewed with Haslam and Banner. The Browns top brass also interviewed Seattle defensive co-ordinator Dan Quinn and Arizona defensive co-ordinator Todd Bowles. The team also requested permission to interview Denver offensive co-ordinator Adam Gase, but he declined the chance to meet with the Browns or Minnesota Vikings because he didnt want to be a distraction during the Broncos playoff preparations. Denver hosts San Diego on Sunday. McDaniels immediately emerged as the front-runner to wind up in Cleveland, based mostly on his association with Patriots coach Bill Belichick, who has worked with Browns general manager Michael Lombardi. Banner, too, has always thought highly of McDaniels, who may be better suited for a second go-around as a head coach after some tough lessons learned in Denver. The 37-year-old McDaniels clashed with quarterback Jay Cutler and wide receiver Bandon Marshall and made several questionable personnel moves as the teams de facto GM. Its still possible the Browns will hire a college coach. Bob Stoops, though, isnt the one. A person with direct knowledge of Clevelands search told The Associated Press that the Browns will not interview Oklahomas coach, who has deep Ohio roots. After his Sooners stunned Alabama in the Sugar Bowl last week, Stoops did nothing to dispel a report that said he had the "inside track" for the Browns job. But the person who spoke to the AP on Monday said the team is not pursuing him and that any reports saying so are "false." The person spoke on the condition of anonymity because of the sensitivity of the search. Stoops said "you never know" when asked about the possibility of one day coaching in the NFL. His vague remarks fueled speculation about Clevelands coaching vacancy. Stoops is from Youngstown and has been linked to the Browns in the past. Cleveland is also reportedly interested in speaking with Auburns Gus Malzahn and Vanderbilts James Franklin. Malzahn will be available for an interview after Monday nights BCS national title game against Florida State. He doesnt have any NFL experience and he has made it clear hes happy at the school, but that may not prevent Haslam and Banner from making a strong run at him. The Browns were enamoured with Chip Kelly during their coaching search last year, but after a short courtship, the former Oregon coach decided to sign with Philadelphia. Franklin has one year of pro experience as Green Bays wide receivers coach in 2005. He led the Commodores to a 9-4 season and a win over Houston in Sundays BBVA Compass Bowl. Franklins impressive turnaround at Vanderbilt has caught the attention of Haslam, a Tennessee alum. Vanderbilt went 24-15 in three seasons under Franklin, who left the interview room following the win without replying when asked if he would be back at the school. Malcolm Butler Titans Jersey
. Numbers Game looks at the As getting Jon Lester from Boston, sending Yoenis Cespedes to the Red Sox along with a deal involving the As and the Minnesota Twins. The Athletics Get: LHP Jon Lester, LF Jonny Gomes, OF Sam Fuld and cash. Xavier Sua-Filo Jersey
. -- James Harden scored 31 points, including 25 in the second half, and the Houston Rockets dug out of a double-digit, first-half hole to beat the Orlando Magic 101-89 on Wednesday night. http://www.titansstoreonline.com/
. -- Jaye Marie Green shot a course-record 10-under 62 on Wednesday to take the first-round lead in the LPGA Tours qualifying tournament. Harold Landry Titans Jersey
. His head snapped back from the impact and hit the floor. The All-Star power forward was all right afterward, a relief for the Minnesota Timberwolves. Blaine Gabbert Titans Jersey
.com) - The Ottawa Senators will try to keep their slim playoff hopes alive when they face the Chicago Blackhawks who are trying to secure their place in the post-season.Got a question on rule clarification, comments on rule enforcements or some memorable NHL stories? Kerry wants to answer your emails at firstname.lastname@example.org
. On Sunday, Detroit Red Wings forward Gustav Nyquist scored what could very well be the goal of the year. As he broke in on the net he was clearly held and the ref had his arm up to call a penalty, or penalty shot, but allowed Nyquist to continue on his breakaway first. If a second infraction was committed on Nyquist, a trip or a slash for example, before he scored the goal, would both calls be wiped out or would the Red Wings be awarded the goal and a power play. Thanks for taking the time to read my question. Matt NimmoBrampton CLICK HERE to watch the play in question. Matt: After being fouled by Matt Carle on a breakaway, Gustav Nyquist demonstrated amazing patience, persistence and the hands of a surgeon in order to regain puck possession with both skates well below the goal line and then slide the disk into the net past Ben Bishop from what appeared to be an impossible angle. Not many players, past or present, possess the skill and instinct required to spin and thread the needle at full speed to score a goal from that location on the ice. Your question, Matt, has several variables for us to consider. The assessment of a penalty shot is designed to restore a scoring opportunity which was lost as a result of a foul being committed by the offending team. On the initial part of this play all parameters of the rule were satisfied for referee Wes McCauley to impose a penalty shot once Gustav Nyquist was clearly fouled from behind by Matt Carle and denied a reasonable scoring opportunity. I am certain that McCauley intended to award a penalty shot to Nyquist had he not scored or other criteria were to develop during the delayed call. As Wes McCauley demonstrated, the referee must delay the call until the offending team gains possession of the puck. If during this delay, Gustav Nyquist or any other Red Wing player had regained a reasonable scoring opportunity (or opportunities) yet no goal resulted, the initial penalty shot call would revert to the assessment of a minor penalty. The next to impossible shot by Nyquist would not have qualified as him regaining a "reasonable scoring opportunity." A penalty shot would have been awarded if the puck had not gone in the net as specified in rule 24.8 (iii)—The fact that he (Nyquist) got a shot off does not automatically eliminate this play from the penalty shot consideration criteria. If the foul was from behind and he was denied a "more" reasonable scoring opportunity due to the foul, then the penalty shot should be awarded. Allow me to answer your direct question, Matt, and aalso play out some other scenarios that could result, with the understanding that if the foul for which the penalty shot was awarded was such as to normally incur a minor penalty, then regardless of whether the penalty shot results in a goal or not, no further penalty shall be served.dddddddddddd. (Major, Match and Misconduct penalties would be assessed in addition to the penalty shot.) In addition, no penalty being served on the clock will expire when a goal is scored on a penalty shot. • If the penalty shot infraction committed by Matt Carle was such to incur a double-minor penalty (i.e. high-stick resulting in injury), the first minor penalty would not be assessed since the penalty shot was awarded to restore the lost scoring opportunity. The second minor penalty would be assessed and served regardless of whether the penalty shot results in a goal. It would be announced as a double-minor penalty and the player would serve two minutes only. (This would also be the assessment in the case where Nyquist (or Wings) scored prior to play being stopped to award the penalty shot resulting from a double minor infraction.) • If a Tampa player (or bench) was assessed an additional minor penalty on this play (separate from the hooking minor infraction to Carle that resulted in the penalty shot), the Tampa minor penalty would be served on the clock regardless of whether the penalty shot results in a goal. • Although it is not currently in the Officials Situation Handbook, conventional wisdom states (until further advised), if both of the above situations were to be satisfied (double minor plus a second minor penalty) one minor of the double minor infraction is eliminated to restore the lost scoring opportunity and the stand alone minor infraction is also assessed and served. A 5 on 3 manpower situation would occur regardless of whether the penalty shot results in a goal. (Presently no "Captains choice" extended in this scenario to allow for team option to play one man short for 4 minutes or two men short for 2 minutes). • Should two penalty shots be awarded to the same team at the same stoppage of play (two separate fouls), only one goal can be scored or awarded at a single stoppage of play. Should the first penalty shot result in a goal, the second shot would not be taken but the appropriate penalty would be assessed and served for the infraction committed. Thanks for the thought provoking question, Matt. I trust the answer pretty much covers all the bases for you. Cmon Ref extends Happy Birthday Wishes to Gordie Howe, who is 86 years young today. My bet is that "Mr. Hockey" would have also been able to score from the angle that Gustav Nyquist did last night in Hockeytown, USA. Cheap Jerseys Store China Jerseys White NFL Jerseys Cheap Wholesale Jerseys Free Shipping Youth NFL Jerseys Cheap Wholesale Stitched Jerseys China NFL Gear
' ' '